Theater News Online
free issue
London Theatre Reviews
NY Theater Reviews
LTN Recommendations
NYTN Recommendations
Book Reviews
Movie Reviews
London Theatre Archives
NY Theater Archives
Latest New York News
Latest London News
NY News Archives
London News Archives
Peter Filichia's Monday Quiz
Dining and Travel
London Theatre Listings
NY Broadway Listings
Off-Broadway Listings
London Tickets
Advertise with us

Give a Gift


Adagio Teas
   Features  >  LATEST NEW YORK NEWS


By David Lefkowitz
Published April 17 2007

  Tyne Daly and Cynthia Nixon

When Rabbit Hole opened on Broadway in early 2006, critics noted what a change of pace the somber drama was compared to such earlier David Lindsay-Abaire works as Fuddy Meers and Wonder of the World. Even more impressed was this year's Pulitzer Prize committee, which, on April 16, bestowed upon Rabbit Hole its 2007 Award for Drama.

The play, which featured a Tony-winning Cynthia Nixon in its Broadway run, beat out the far-less-known nominees Orpheus (Rinde Eckert), Bulrusher (Elsa Davis) and Elliot, A Soldier's Fugue (Quiara Alegria Hudes) for the $10,000 prize.

Lindsay-Abaire's play, about a couple torn apart by the accidental death of their son, had a 77-performance run at Broadway's Biltmore Theater. Hudes' Fugue played at off-off-Broadway's 45 Bleecker around the same time. Davis' work ran at Urban Stages in March 2006. Eckert's Orpheus has yet to reach New York but enjoyed a wildly acclaimed premiere at Boston's American Rep, also a year ago March.



This year's Drama committee members included theater critics Rohan Preston and Karen D'Souza, college professor Kimberly W. Benston, and Pulitzer-winning playwright, Paula Vogel(How I Learned to Drive). New York Times scribe Ben Brantley served as chair.

Instituted in 1917 at the bequest of newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer, the prizes are currently divided into three categories: Journalism, Letters, Drama & Music; and Special Citations. This year, Cormac McCarthy's The Road won for Fiction, while Ray Bradbury, an occasional playwright, received a Special Citation for his body of science fiction writing.

No Pulitzers for Drama were awarded in 2006. The previous winner was John Patrick Shanley's Doubt in 2005.


SUBSCRIBE TO New York Theater News
SUBSCRIBE TO London Theater News

Yes, Prime Minister contracts its run, while A Chorus Line expands its own.
POWERHOUSE OF THEATRE - After 11 years as the Almeida Theatre's artistic director, Michael Attenborough is stepping down to focus on directing. 

SONGS FROM THE HEART - Once the Tony-Award winning musical is set to hit London in January.

Wine, Fruit, and Gourmet Gift Baskets.
Privacy Notice   |   Front Page
Copyright © All Rights Reserved.